New Way of Thinking


Do you ever feel like something you really want just won’t manifest? Do you ever feel like things are spiraling out of control, and you can’t do anything to stop it? Do you feel like no matter how hard you try, you just can’t be successful? I do. Just about everyday. Luckily for me though, I neglected to return a library book. The city library actually took the payment for it out of last years tax return! The book sat on my bookcase for the past three or four years gathering dust. But, all things happen for a reason.

One day a few months ago, someone, I believe it was my mother, sent me an email about a very successful taxi cab driver. I read the story with amusement, as it told about him offering the “Ritz” treatment to his passengers. Asked by one of his passengers why he did all the things he did, the cab driver told a little story about an inspirational book he’d read by Dr. Wayne Dyer. That rang a bell with me, and as I sat there thinking about all the things the cab driver was saying, and how I wanted my businesses to be just as successful, small though it was, I remembered that library book on top of my bookshelf. I took it down, and low and behold, it was a book by Dr. Wayne Dyer called “The Power of Intention, Learning to Co-Create Your World Your Way.”

When I first checked the book out of the library, I read about half of it, and lost interest, but now, now that I’d lost my full-time job and was struggling with making a living in the world as a soap maker and natural hoof care practitioner, I was all ears, or eyes I should say. I’ve been reading the book ever since. It’s not something you can just read the whole thing and then that’s that. It has to be thought about in quiet moments, as the ideas and suggestions and ways of thinking in the book were completely foreign to me. But I needed to realign my thinking. I had just re-kindled an old relationship that had failed the first time, at least in part, I feel, from my negative, egoistic thinking patterns. I knew it was time for me to radically change the way I viewed the world if I wanted this relationship to flourish and I DID, and I DO! I know that positive thought patterns are necessary for both good businesses and great relationships. On days I feel particularly low, and into thought patterns that are making me miserable, I can open Wayne’s book and find something to feel blessed about. I am positive that I am a better person to be around when I feel blessed and thankful for all I have, instead of feeling like the world is against me , like I’m poor both in money and spirit, and life just sucks. Who would want to be around someone who thinks like that?

Today I woke up, on Christmas Eve, and was feeling a little low. Business has been VERY slow these past few weeks. Appointments had to be cancelled due to inclement weather, the Holiday’s etc. I wasn’t able to do the kind of christmas I really wanted to do for my kids. I got online and found Wayne’s blog and read the following and it helped me get back on track. I could breath a sign of relief and not feel like the weight of the world is on my shoulders. I’d like to share some of it with you.

“You get what you think about, whether you want it or not.” (I’ve seen this concept in action, and yep, it’s true.)

“If you believe that the universe is unfriendly, you’ll look for examples to support this point of view. You’ll anticipate people attempting to cheat, judge, take advantage of, and otherwise harm you. You’ll blame the antagonistic, inhospitable cosmos for not cooperating with you in the fulfillment of your desires. You’ll point the finger at belligerent people and bad luck for the kind of world we all live in.”

“Whatever I need is already here, and it is all for my highest good.” (That’s a hard one for me to grasp)

“I live in a friendly universe that will support any thing or desire that is aligned with the universal source of all.”

“By shifting my belief about the nature of the universe, I attract whatever I desire into my life. I desire love. I desire peace. I desire health. I desire happiness. I desire prosperity.” Dr. Wayne Dyer

And the prayer of St. Francis

“God make me an instrument of your peace.”

One thought on “New Way of Thinking

  1. Hi 🙂 Nice to cross paths with you in the blogosphere! I love this post, the little coincidences that make bigger things happen. It certainly makes you view your life differently; and take for granted what has already been allotted to you. Reinspect the finer parts in life. Serendipity.

    I hope you have a wonderful Christmas and New Year. I can’t wait for your next trip out to meet the new girls and see Jacqsonne! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

