Ah hay!


A few weeks ago I placed an ad on craigslist looking for good-quality round bales in my area that someone would deliver to me. Well, a guy called me this morning and offered to deliver me some bales at only $25 per bale delivered. I said “sure” since we were on our next to last big bale. He brought me some of the ugliest hay I’ve ever seen. He dropped the four bales off his truck and I looked at it and then asked him if it were moldy and he swore it wasn’t. Well, soon as he left I opened a bale and rolled off the outer layer hoping for good hay inside. Nope, there was none, it was moldy ALL THE WAY THROUGH! I thought “oh great” now I’ve just wasted money and have no hay!

Well, I called him up and told him I couldn’t feed it and he actually came and got it and between him and his dad and kids they rolled three of the bales back up into the trucks. The fourth one was all torn apart and couldn’t be rolled. He gave me my money back and took me to see some hay on another farm, which was just as bad as the first hay….which I watched him roll off his truck into HIS horse pasture. Apparently he does not mind his horses eating moldy hay. Me, I don’t like huge vet bills! All the hay was under tarps, which do not breath. I told him no on that hay too. So then he said he’d bring me 4 more bales out of his barn that hadn’t been tarped. This was a really nice guy, and he’d already spent half his day trying to satisfy me as a customer, so I said “sure.” All the hay he’d shown me was probably fine when baled, but had gone bad under the tarp.

I was apprehensive about the barn hay, but he just dropped it off and it looks just fine. Course, I haven’t opened up a bale yet, but I’ve pulled a bunch out and it looks okay, a million times better than the first stuff. He said he’s got about 50 more bales like that, that he’ll deliver to the new farm if I like it. It’s orchard grass so I’m hoping it will be fine. $20, ($25 a bale delivered) is a good price for decent hay. Course, I still need some alfalfa for the goats. I’m feeding just over 100 pounds of pelleted alfalfa per week right now, and the hay would be less expensive, although they do waste more of it. (50 pound bags of alfalfa pellets are running about $13.50, while alfalfa hay can be found for between $6 and $9 dollars for bales that weigh about 50 pounds.) Each goat gets about 3 pounds of alfalfa pellets per day, plus the buck and wether get them too.

4 thoughts on “Ah hay!

  1. We might know of some alfalfa available, if you’re still looking. Square bales; probably around $7.50-$8/bale delivered. It’s pretty good stuff – 3/4 alfalfa, 1/4 orchard grass. A friend of HB’s baled it this year and we’ve been helping find homes for it at some friend’s horse farms. I’ll try to see how much is left; I know we are getting some for the new girls. We can talk more about it when you’re here for trims on Wednesday or feel free to give us a call before then. 🙂

    Like

  2. OH crud! i just typed a nice comment and as soon as i submitted it it come up blank! Please tell me it worked properly? I do not want to sumit it again if i do not have to! Either the blog bugged out or i am just stuipd :), the latter doesnt surprise me lol.

    Like

Leave a Reply

