“I’m too busy” Excerpt from “Excuses Begone! By Dr Dyer


I needed some of Dr. Wayne’s good advice this morning, and found this excerpt from his new book “Excuses Begone.”  The excerpt can be viewed in whole on his website at http://www.drwaynedyer.com.

How often do I say “I’m just too busy” to do this or that…things that need to be done, things I actually want to do, but instead I allow my life to be cluttered with little things that take entirely too long…like thinking about vacuuming the floor, or organizing my soap room,  instead of actually doing it.  Procrastination is my biggest downfall.  How much easier it is to just do it, without thinking about it.  In the time I’ve spend thinking about why I don’t want to do a thing, I could have done the thing and gone on to something else!

“I’m too busy” By Dr. Dyer

“If you are overextended know that you’ve chosen to be in this position.  All of the activities of your life, including those that take up huge portions of your time, are simply the result of the choices you make.  If your family responsibilities are problematic, you’ve opted to prioritize your life this way.  If you calender is crammed, you’ve decided to live with a full schedule.  If  there are way too many small details that only you can handle, then this, again, is a choice you’ve made.

Surely, one of the major purposes of life is to be happy.   If you are using the excuse that you’re too busy to be happy, you’ve made a choice to be busy, and in the process, you’ve copped out on living your life on purpose.  If you’ve substituted being busy for actively and happily fulfilling your destiny, you need to reexamine your priorities.  Here is my mentor, Thoreau, on unexamined priorities.  “Most men are engaged in business the greater part of their lives, because the soul abhors a vacuum, and they have not discovered any continuous employment for man’s nobler faculties.”

Don’t let your soul languish in an unfilled vacuum.  Instead, begin to examine just how you prioritize your life.  All the details that occupy it keep you from a destiny that you’re aware wants your attention.”  Dr. Wayne Dyer

I didn’t make any New Years resolutions this year, and I’ve been thinking that maybe I should make a one or two simple ones, so I thought about it, and this is what I’ve come up with.

The first one is to keep a much more organized and tidier house.  I am rarely able to find the supplies I need for goatkeeping, tools, flashlights, ink pens,  etc. because I’ve laid them down and can’t remember where I put them!

The other thing I’d like to do this year is to really examine what it is I want to be doing with my life and then actually do it!  Sometimes it’s hard to really know what it is I’d really like to be doing, business-wise, when things like bills, animal feed needs, car repair, etc. intrude on my creative spirit.  I definitely LOVE my small farm and all the animals, I love doing natural hoof care and seeing horses heal, although I don’t like the travel so much.  (But a couple times a week going out of town  can be refreshing I’ll admit).  I went to college to be a writer, and sometimes I wonder why I didn’t pursue that avenue, and then I remember all the excuses.  “I’m not good enough”, “it’ll be too hard”, “it’s too expensive to finish school”, “I don’t have enough time”, “no one will ever publish me” and on and on.  So to examine my business life, seeing it without the excuses, is my goal for this year and my whole life.

What are your goals and aspirations for the coming decade?

natural hoof care

James River Ride, me and Amira, summer 2009. I wish it were that warm today!

Leave a Reply

