Get Up Already!


baby alpine dairy goat

I'm a showgirl already.

It’s Sunday, what else have you got to do?  I’ve already milked some goats and fed some horses.  I’m feeling really farmerish right now.  Yesterday I also got up to milk at 5am.  I guess that’s why I was soooooo tired yesterday afternoon at 4 o’clock.  I couldn’t think of a thing to do.  CG was in bed asleep and I didn’t want to wake him up.  He had to work third shift last night.  Just for one night.  I don’t know how he did it.  I would have fallen asleep on the time clock.  It’s a good thing I don’t have to punch one of those things anymore.

Actually, I’d like to punch one, only not with my badge, but with something more substantial, like a baseball bat.

All of this farm-type stuff is  much more fun without a full-time factory job to hamper me.  Course, we’re in the middle of moving and everything I need here is over there, and everything I need over there is here.

Right now I don’t know what I need.  Maybe more sleep?

Alicia update:  No kids, thank goodness.  I don’t know her kidding history as I’ve had her less than a year.  She kidded here on our farm last July, but I luted her (farmers term for artificially inducing labor), so  I don’t know how natural kidding normally goes for her.  Most goats seem to repeat the same things at kidding each year, even down to the time of day. I’ve never seen one of my does lose their mucus plug without going into labor soon, or being in labor when it is lost.

Course, Alicia’s plug has disappeared now, I watched it fall to the ground last night when she peed, so I probably just always miss it.

Who knows.

(blogger geek stuff follows, may not be of interest)

In case you’ve wondered about the links you see in my post, well, they have nothing to do at all with my blog or my posts.  I downloaded this new tool from Firefox called Zemanta, and it automatically makes some of my words into links.  They link to Wikipedia or something like that and tell you a little more about the subject at hand.  Not that I won’t tell you a great deal myself.  But, if I forget not everybody’s a farmer, and mention something like “Lutalyse” or “CDIR” and forget to tell you what it is, then you can just look up the link, although apparently Zemanta doesn’t know what those terms mean either.  Well heck.  I still like it.   And it looks like it’s going to link to Zemanta, so if you’re a blogger, you better click on that one.

It also automatically suggests tags based on post content.  Tags that I would never have thought of.  Tags that will suggest your site to other people who otherwise never would have seen it.  It’s trickery if you ask me.  But I like it.  It’s fun.  And that’s what it’s all about.

HAPPY SUNDAY!

Enhanced by Zemanta
One thought on “Get Up Already!

  1. These little guys and gals are just too cute! I want to come and cuddle with them! 🙂 It makes me feel as if mid-March is such a long ways away …. and then I’m glad, because we’re not quite ready for our kidding season to start!

    I’m anxious to hear about Alicia! She’s such a pretty doe!

    Like

Leave a Reply

