Where Is Spring?


I know it’s not quite time for it yet, but as I was outside last night hauling yet more hay to the horses and breaking ice in the tubs without a heat source, I realized that I am really, really, and I mean REALLY going to appreciate the warmer weather that comes along this spring.

We have been seriously moving the farm the past few days.  CG has taken some time off work so we can get it done, but it’s so very hard to spend any time at all outside when the temps are in the 24’s with the wind chill, and it’s just impossible to stay warm.

I was thinking about how much we complain in the summer about the heat.  Well, other people complain, it doesn’t bother me most of the time…..as long as I can get back in my air conditioning! I LOVE our hot humid Virginian summers.

This has been a relentless winter.  A client yesterday told me the Farmers Almanc, which predicted our weather fairly accurately so far this year, has predicted a major, horrible, winter storm in the month of March.

Will it ever end?  With heat bills over $400 dollars a month, and chapped hands, face, and constantly frozen fingers, I’m done.

I think I’m going to do what lots of smart animals do, and hibernate!  I wish I would have thought of that sooner, and avoided all this cold all together, instead of just missing the tail end of things.

Yep, I’m going to appreciate spring this year for sure.  I’ve already seen lots of really pretty birds that I don’t normally see in the winter.  I guess they got a big surprise when they flew in from where ever it is they came from and found all this brutally cold winter weather stuck here in Central Virginia.

My son bought me a really cute bird feeder for my birthday.  Every time I look at it I want to take it outside and hang it up, but I know the wind will probably just knock it down, seeds and all.  So I wait.  For spring.

It’s got to be out there somewhere.

bird waits for spring

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Leave a Reply

