Living With Wildlife


I do love wildlife, but frankly, I’ve had enough for a while.

This morning when I went out to the garage/barn/shed to get feed, this possum was lying beside the feed bags, looking at me.  I got a shovel and attempted to scoot him out into the daylight, but he fell over in the shovel.

I thought he was playing possum.

What do I know?

I got him outside and noticed some areas on his side and back that were…well….gross.  It appeared he had possibly gotten hit by a car, and then decided to come inside where it was more comfortable.

I meant to get a picture this morning while he was still alive, but honestly, he wasn’t any cuter then either.

dead possum, road kill, marsupial animals

possum, epm, road kill, possum tails

Nice tail don't you think? His little feet are kind of neet too.

Those blue things under his tail?  Far as I can tell, they are his testicles.  I don’t know anything about possum testicles, so I’m only guessing. They could be guts.  He was missing some of his insides.  I guess he was really hungry and ate himself because my worthless dogs wouldn’t touch ANYTHING dead…except if it’s cooked, or possibly if it’s a deer.

I want swans, and elk and deer and the occasional bear, and buffalo…okay, maybe not buffalo, but where are all the beautiful animals?  We’ve got more spiders than I knew existed, mosquitoes, super duper man-and-horse-and-goat eating horseflies, ticks, a yardful of toads that look like rats running around at night, possums, snakes, and bugs that I have never seen before and that probably don’t exist anywhere but here.

I’m wondering what I’ll find next.  No, I’m not.  I’m praying I won’t find anything else at all!

Share on FacebookShare

Enhanced by Zemanta
4 thoughts on “Living With Wildlife

  1. Yuck! A few years ago we had a possum come up to our house. It was in the winter time, and we thought maybe it was out looking for food. It was acting strangely, and in the morning we found it dead. We thought it must have been ill, or that maybe it died from the cold. I think they’re rather gross though.

    #31DBBB challenge visiting. Love your site, and will be subscribing. Peace. 😉

    Like

  2. Yep, I think possums are rather disgusting. I’m sure they serve a useful purpose here on the earth though. Although they need to stay away from our feed and hay and baby chicks…they do carry disease. Hopefully that’s the only one we had around here.

    Like

  3. My hubby tells me all the time that he feels possums are completely useless. He says they have no purpose and he can’t understand why God made them. True story. He says this every time we see a dead possum on the side of the road. I’m not sure why he has put so much thought into this topic. Lol!

    Found you through the Lady Bloggers Society. 🙂

    Like

  4. Well, I have yet to figure out what their use is, but I leave them alone…unless they get into our stuff. We’ve never killed one, but do encourage them to leave. Certainly they are one of the ugliest animals alive!

    Like

Leave a Reply

