The Giving Pledge


Yesterday I was intrigued by all the Twitter talk about “The Giving Pledge.”  Since I don’t really watch TV here much, I looked it up on the internet and was pleasantly surprised to find so many billionaires pledging large portions of their worth to charities either during their lifetime or after they are dead.

Other people are apparently similarly interested as “The Giving Pledge” was the 79th most googled phrase yesterday and traffic on Philanthropy is absolutely booming.

Well, I don’t have billions of dollars to give away, but I really like the idea that people who do would consider giving it all away.

Of course, I’m sure it makes for better business while they are still alive. Being seen as a good-hearted person.

But, maybe this is a sign of things to come all across the world.  Maybe people are tired of making money just to buy another bauble.  Maybe it won’t stop at the billionaires, but trickle on down to those with less money, and more time.

Maybe our world isn’t such a bad place after all.

I’ve long been thinking about what I can do to make the world a better place, and I have a few ideas…some of them are already in practice.

What is it YOU would like to do, given your current situation?  Aren’t there things we all can do, no matter where we are on our life journey?

Please share your ideas.  They will inspire me and others to get out there and get things done!

Enhanced by Zemanta

Share on Facebook

Share

5 thoughts on “The Giving Pledge

  1. One thing I would like to do is to give my soap to women’s shelters. CG suggested this to me a long time ago and I just never got around to getting any information about it. I was a resident of a women’s shelter for a period of time about 16 years ago. The shelter was a haven, but the situation that put me there was very, very stressful. I think a small gift of handmade soap, with an inspiring verse of some type included on the label, might make a really bad day just a little brighter for someone who is now where I once was. I pledge to get the information I need to be able to donate soaps to local women’s shelters in my area. I will post the results back here.

    Like

    • Well, I’m sad to say I have not gotten any word back from the women’s shelter. I sent them an email. I will do a phone call next and perhaps stop by. Not everyone checks their email as often as I do!

      Like

    • Directors at shelters are often so busy with funding issues and meetings, and more often CRISIS! I suggest you just drop them off or send the soap to them. They usually will have a coordinator or advocate that handles the shelter. These people as you know are deep within the walls and protected by staff as much as clients privacy is protected! Keep trying! I know the South Lake Tahoe Women’s Center would gladly accept them! I like your idea of inspiring messages. I am a farm girl too! BaaaaaaaBaaaaa;)

      Like

  2. As a survivor of domestic violence my voice was shut down for 38 years. Incest by my grandfather at age two to eight & clergy sex abuse at age eleven & twelve, I now have a passion & purpose for my life! In 1999 I faced the demons from my past & chose to forgive the youth pastor for what he did. Seven weeks later he fell & broke his back & died. I courageously penned my book in only one week, Listen to the Cry of the Child. As a Prevention Advocate & Warrior I am on a mission giving back to other survivors. I desperately want my voice to be heard with the media along with raising funds to continue bringing awarness to others. Any help anyone could give me I welcome a dialog!!

    Like

  3. I have also been a resident at a women’s shelter and then transitional housing after that. I have wanted to give back also. I am now an Aesthetician (thanks to the Vocational Rehabilitation Program, CA) and I am developing my own body products, going to school full time and a fulltime single mom, oh yes and working at the spa! A plate full! I figure show the kid graditude, dedication and generocity. I am stuck at where to get womens grants or loans for my small business. The goal is to develop a business to put other women to work .

    Like

Leave a Reply

