Broken Down Truck and Milk Running Out of Our Ears!


Literally.  This time of year with fresh does and bottle feeding kids, I feel like I have milk running out of every part of me!  I spill it, get it spit on me, sneezed on me, etc.  You’d think I’d get tired of so much milk.

But I don’t.  I still feel depressed when I don’t have a jar of ice cold milk in the fridge waiting for me.

I know I should drink more water, but it’s not nearly as tasty as cold goats milk.

It’s funny some days…like today…in some ways we can feel so richly blessed.  The goats are milking like crazy…I have milk waiting to be pasteurized for babies all over the kitchen.  (We use only raw for human use…sounds weird, I know).  The chickens are laying eggs in all different colors, green, bluish green, light brown, dark brown, and everything in between.  Green grass is coming up all over the place, trees are budding, the house is getting slowly renovated, we’ve got gravel in the driveway instead of mud, baby goats are running around all over the place….but our truck broke down and so we are down to just one vehicle.

On the brighter side, I think I may have fixed it, or at least allowed it to spontaneously fix itself.

Sometimes they do that.

I’m going to have to go out and see if it will run properly.  In any case, moving that hay pile by wheelbarrow load just aint cutting it.

But the truck won’t go over about 20 miles an hour.

That’s all I need.

Maybe it’s just feeling sick from where I broke off the bottom part of the bumper the other day by getting it stuck over top of a hay pile.  Backing up over the hay seemed like a good idea at the time.  But I went from having one wheel stuck in the mud to having the whole truck stuck on top of a pile of wet hay.

I ended up pulling enough hay out from under the truck to be able to continue backing down the hill.  But my effort to save time cost me the rest of the day and a bumper guard.

I fixed it fairly decently with some zip ties, but then CG went ahead and just pulled the thing off.  Once plastic is broke, it’s just broke.  Aint no fixing it.

I think that’s what gave it a sick transmission.  I gave it a holistic treatment of parking it on level ground instead of the hill I had it parked on for 3 days.

I think it will work now.

If not, it’ll be broke down in the pasture or the front yard, and not on the side of the road.

And I’ve got a tray of wheat grass ready to juice.  Don’t know if it’ll do anything for the truck,  but maybe if I drink it it will give me the energy to push that wheelbarrow up and down the hill.

Nope, I didn’t get enough sleep last night.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

