It’s Time To Garden


Well, for lots of people, gardening started much earlier, but for me, I’ve been busy working on the pasture grass and hadn’t done much work in the garden.

Hadn’t done much work on the blog either.  And the grass is four feet high.

Almost.

But, as for the garden.  I have been spreading paper feed bags and thick layers of hay and mulch over my garden spot.  Today was the day to move back some of that wet hay and put some plants in.

I planted jewel weed, milkweed, strawberries, onions, and some berry bushes.  I had bought some potted lavender, but forgot to water it and it looks pretty dead so probably won’t plant it.  Well, I guess if I buried it, that would be appropriate.  I’ll just call it burying the dead, instead of planting.

Anyway, I didn’t till anything, and have some space left over, plus endless piles of old hay and manure.

I made a bucket of manure tea too.  I made it with fresh manure because I couldn’t remember if I should use fresh or old and fresh sounded better.  Then I read online that I should have used old manure or compost.  So now I have a bucket of yuk sitting in the back yard waiting for me to do something with it.  I don’t think I have the stomach for it right now.

I also bought a new sprayer.  I decided I wanted to try using raw milk for fertilizer.  I sprayed one whole pasture with it about 5 days ago.  It hasn’t stopped growing yet, but I don’t know if it has increased it’s rate of growth.

Again, I didn’t look up the instructions before doing it.  Just remembered reading about it and wanting to try it last season.

We had a new little baby goat girl born the day before Easter.  She’s just a doll.  I named her Cherry Blossom.

Aside from growing things and trying to stop things from growing, (the yard grass), summer is sneaking up and attacking very quickly.  It’s been in the 80’s and very warm at night.  I love it, love it, even the humidity.  The only thing I don’t like about summer are the bugs.  And we have a lot of them.  I set off 5 foggers in the house the other day to get rid of the stink bugs that had overwintered in the wall cracks and had started coming out by the dozens.  Don’t know if I killed them all, but I haven’t seen a live once since.  Except for two of them.  Hopefully, we’ll see no more.

Okay, the grass is screaming at me to come and cut it, so I guess I must.  One less thing to have to do tomorrow.

Toodles.

Enhanced by Zemanta
3 thoughts on “It’s Time To Garden

  1. Pingback: Noe Valley Real Estate » Growing Your Own Garden is Fantastic Fun!

  2. Manure tea is just like regular tea except made with manure and non-drinkable! It’s a good boost for pastures, yards and gardens as the nutrients are leached out into the water which is then sprayed onto plants and available for immediate uptake verses manures mulched around plants and then left to leach into the soil on their own.

    The grass got cut…but sprouted 2 inches overnight and needs it again!

    Like

Leave a Reply

